1993 Ford Taurus Complaints and Reviews

Summary


2255

NHTSA Complaints and Reviews

Complaints and Reviews issued by the NHTSA for the 1993 Ford Taurus


For more details, contact the dealer.

Car Component Date VIN City State Involved in Crash? Involved in fire? Description
EXTERIOR LIGHTING 06 Nov 2012 1FACP5748PG SAN JOSE CA No No HEADLIGHTS WENT OUT. FIDDLED DESPERATELY WITH THE ON/OFF SWITCH & GOT THEM TO COME BACK ON. WENT OUT SEVERAL TIMES OVER THE NEXT 30 MINUTES ... DISCOVERED TURNING OFF AND BACK ON FIXED. SUSPECTED IT HAD TO DO WITH THE HEAT. OVER THE TWO MONTH, REC
EXTERIOR LIGHTING:HEADLIGHTS:SWITCH 06 Nov 2012 1FACP5748PG SAN JOSE CA No No HEADLIGHTS WENT OUT. FIDDLED DESPERATELY WITH THE ON/OFF SWITCH & GOT THEM TO COME BACK ON. WENT OUT SEVERAL TIMES OVER THE NEXT 30 MINUTES ... DISCOVERED TURNING OFF AND BACK ON FIXED. SUSPECTED IT HAD TO DO WITH THE HEAT. OVER THE TWO MONTH, REC
STRUCTURE:FRAME AND MEMBERS 08 Dec 2010 1FALP57U3PA RUTHERFORD NJ No No TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 1993 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH THE FRAME ON THE VEHICLE FRACTURED AND COMPLETELY SEPARATED FROM THE VEHICLE CAUSING HIM TO TEMPORARILY LOSE CONTROL OF THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS
FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP 01 Mar 2010 1FACP57U0PG RAVENNA OH No No TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 1993 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT A WARNING. HE WAS ABLE TO COAST THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. HE THEN TRIED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BUT IT FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS THE TOWED TO HIS RES
UNKNOWN OR OTHER 28 Nov 2008 1FACP52U1PA CLEVELAND OH yes No I PULL IN THE DRIVEWAY IN MY 1993 FORD TAURUS. THE ENGINE WOULD NOT TURN OFF. I PULLED THE CAR IN FRONT OF MY HOUSE TO SEE HOW I COULD SHUT IT OFF. THE ENGINE STARTED TO ACCELERATE. AS IT WAS BUILDING RPM'S SMOKE WAS COMING FROM UNDER NEATH THE CAR
VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL:CABLES 03 Oct 2008 1FALP54P0PA DOBBSFERRY NY No No TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 1993 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH THROUGH THE TOLL PLAZA, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SLOW DOWN WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT EXITED OFF THE INTERSTATE AND APPROACHED A TRAFFIC LIGHT THIRTY SECONDS LATER. SHE NOTI
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 29 Jul 2008 1FALP5243PA NEW PORT RICHEY FL No No I BOUGHT MY 1993 FORD TAURUS 3 MONTHS AGO..IT HAS 59K ON IT...ONE WEEK AFTER BUYING IT CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON..WHEN I APPROACHED THE DEALERSHIP THERE COMMENT WAS.."WELL THINGS GO WRONG DAILY WITH USED CARS..I DRIVE THE CAR FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES THEN TH
SUSPENSION:FRONT 09 Jul 2008 1FALP5248PG NEW BERLIN WI No No TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 1993 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL MECHANIC FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE COIL SPRINGS AND STRUTS FAILED AND THE SWAY BAR WAS DAMAGED. PRIOR TO THIS INFORMATION, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE FRO
ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:COOLING SYSTEM 04 Jun 2008 1FALP52U7PG LORIDA FL No No THERE ARE ALOT OF RECALLS ON MY CAR AND NO ONE WILL HELP ME. *TR
ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:EXHAUST SYSTEM 04 Jun 2008 1FALP52U7PG LORIDA FL No No THERE ARE ALOT OF RECALLS ON MY CAR AND NO ONE WILL HELP ME. *TR
ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL 04 Jun 2008 1FALP52U7PG LORIDA FL No No THERE ARE ALOT OF RECALLS ON MY CAR AND NO ONE WILL HELP ME. *TR
POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION 04 Jun 2008 1FALP52U7PG LORIDA FL No No THERE ARE ALOT OF RECALLS ON MY CAR AND NO ONE WILL HELP ME. *TR
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 04 Jun 2008 1FALP52U7PG LORIDA FL No No THERE ARE ALOT OF RECALLS ON MY CAR AND NO ONE WILL HELP ME. *TR
ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:COOLING SYSTEM 16 May 2008 1FALP5243PA NEW PORT RICHEY FL No No THE HEAT FROM THE ENGINE COMES INSIDE MY CAR...MAKING IT HOTTER ON THE INSIDE THAN OUTSIDE..DRIVING IT YESTERDAY THE A/C FAN FROZE UP CAUSING IT TO SMOKE AND WAS UNDRIVABLE. JUST HAD IT IN FOR A MAJOR TUNE UP A WEEK AGO YET STILL THIS PROBLEMS OCCURS.. *
SUSPENSION:FRONT 26 Apr 2008 1FACP52U4PG PESHTIGO WI No No DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND THE RIGHT SIDE SPRING BROKE. I PARKED THE CAR AND IN ABOUT TWO MONTHS I REPLACED THE WHOLE STRUT . WHEN I WAS DONE I TOOK IT FOR A RIDE AND WENT ABOUT TWO BLOCKS AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE SPRING BROKE. *TR
SUSPENSION:FRONT 16 Jan 2008 1FACP57U2PG ALLIANCE OH No No TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 1993 FORD TAURUS. THE FRONT SUSPENSION FELL OUT WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE COIL SPRING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA C
STRUCTURE:FRAME AND MEMBERS 08 Jan 2008 1FACP5845PG VILLA PARK IL No No TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 1993 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE SUBFRAME OF THE REAR CORNERS FAILED. THIS CAUSED THE STEERING TO LOCK AND NEARLY RESULTED IN A CRASH. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 98V323000 (STR
STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS:UNDERBODY SHIELDS 20 Nov 2007 1FALP54P3PA EVANSVILLE IN No No TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 1993 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A POPPING SOUND COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE STEERING WHEEL MOVED TO THE LEFT. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS
EXTERIOR LIGHTING:HEADLIGHTS:SWITCH 24 Sep 2007 1FALP5246PA DECATUR TX No No TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 1993 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE HEADLIGHTS FLICKERED RAPIDLY. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHT SWITCH FAILED AND THAT HIS VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 98V00900
ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE 28 Jun 2007 MONTROSS VA No yes TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 1993 FORD TAURUS. ON MAY 30, 2007, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE WHILE PARKED. THE CONTACT NOTICED BLACK SMOKE RISING FROM UNDER THE HOOD, WHICH LED TO THE VEHICLE BEING ENGULFED IN FLAMES. THE LOT WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED SUSTAINED
ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING 08 Jun 2007 STREETSBORO OH No No 1993 HEAD GASKET WENT BAD WITH ONLY 70,000 MILES
EXTERIOR LIGHTING:HEADLIGHTS 26 Apr 2007 1FALP5249PA GLENOLDEN PA No No TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 1993 FORD TAURUS. THE VEHICLE RECEIVEDE RECALL REGARDING THE CIRCUIT BREAKER OPENING. THE FAILURE CAUSED THE HEADLIGHTS TO DIM FOR SHORT PERIODS OF TIME. THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE HAD THE SAME FAILURE, BUT FORD STATED THAT THE VEHIC
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:FUSES AND CIRCUIT BREAKERS 26 Apr 2007 1FALP5249PA GLENOLDEN PA No No TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 1993 FORD TAURUS. THE VEHICLE RECEIVEDE RECALL REGARDING THE CIRCUIT BREAKER OPENING. THE FAILURE CAUSED THE HEADLIGHTS TO DIM FOR SHORT PERIODS OF TIME. THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE HAD THE SAME FAILURE, BUT FORD STATED THAT THE VEHIC
ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE 29 Sep 2006 1FALP5744PG WILLOWBROOK IL No No BLOWN HEAD GASKET ON 1993 FORD TAURUS WITH 3.8L ENGINE WITH 63,890 MILES. TOTAL REPAIR $2008.12. *JB
TIRES 29 Aug 2006 TOLEDO OH No No 2003 FORD TAURUS BLEW A TIRE AND BOUNCED ACROSS THE MEDIAN INTO WESTBOUND TRAFFIC. *KB *JB
TIRES 23 Aug 2006 TOLEDO OH No No 1993 FORD TAURUS LEFT FRONT TIRE SEPARATED FROM VEHICLE. *TS *JB
WHEELS:LUGS/NUTS/BOLTS 23 Aug 2006 TOLEDO OH No No 1993 FORD TAURUS LEFT FRONT TIRE SEPARATED FROM VEHICLE. *TS *JB
ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE 14 Apr 2006 TACOMA WA No No CONSUMER COMPLAINT CONCERNING 1993 TAURUS ENGINE PROBLEMS. *TS *JB
AIR BAGS:FRONTAL 27 Feb 2006 1FALP5244PG WESTLAND MI yes No DT*: THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN A MULTI CAR CRASH AT 30 MPH IN ICY CONDITIONS; HOWEVER THE FRONT AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE WAS STRUCK BY NUMEROUS OTHER VEHICLES AND THE VEHICLE WAS IMPACTED ON THE ENTIRE FRONT END, PASSENG
STRUCTURE:FRAME AND MEMBERS 27 Jan 2006 1FACP52U8PA BENSALEM PA No No SUBFRAME WHICH SUPPORTS THE ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION DROPPED OUT WHILE DIVING. STEERING SUDDENLY BECAME VERY DIFFICULT. CAR WAS PULLED OFF ROAD WITHOUT FURTHER INCIDENT. RECALL ITEMS WHICH WERE REPLACED IN 1999 HAD FAILED AGAIN. FORD TAKES NO RESPONSIBILIT
ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING 23 Nov 2005 LOUISVILLE KY No No HEAD GASKET FAILED ON 1993 FORD TAURUS GL, 3.8L. THIS DEFECT IS PREVALENT IN THE MAJORITY OF AUTOMOBILES MANUFACTURED WITH THIS ENGINE. *JB
SUSPENSION:FRONT:SPRINGS:COIL SPRINGS 19 Nov 2005 1FALP52U0PA EAST MEADOW NY No No RIGHT FRONT COIL SPRING BROKE WHILE DRIVING ON LOCAL ROAD. HAD IT REPAIRED AT LOCAL NEARBY SERVICE STATION. RIGHT TIE ROD WAS RUINED TOO. THIS SPRING HAD BEEN REPLACED BY THE FORD DEALER AS PART OF A SAFETY RECALL IN 1998. *NM
SUSPENSION:FRONT:SPRINGS:COIL SPRINGS 19 Nov 2005 1FALP52U0PA EAST MEADOW NY No No LEFT FRONT COIL SPRING BROKE WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. HAD TO BE TOWED TO LOCAL SERVICE STATION. BROKEN SPRING COULD NOT BE REMOVED WITHOUT PUNCTURING LEFT FRONT TIRE. ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF VEHICLE. THIS SPRING HAD BEEN REPLACED BY THE FORD DEAL
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:WIRING 17 Jun 2005 ? OLYMPIA WA No yes I RECENTLY READ AN ARTICLE ABOUT SPONTANEOUS FIRES IN FORD MODELS ON CNN. I USED TO HAVE A FORD TAURUS WHICH CAUGHT ON FIRE. LUCKILY WE PUT IT OUT BEFORE IT GOT VERY LARGE BUT THE ENTIRE WIRING HARNESS BURNT AND IT WAS UNREPAIRABLE.
AIR BAGS:FRONTAL:DRIVER SIDE INFLATOR MODULE 31 May 2005 1FACP52U0PG RICHMOND CA No No HIT DIP (ROAD DEFECT) 04/26/05; DRIVER'S-SIDE AIRBAG (FROM STEERING WHEEL) DEPLOYED. THOUGHT CAR ABOUT TO CATCH ON FIRE (THAT AIRBAG POWDER WAS SMOKE); QUICKLY EXITED CAR, THEN REALIZED SITUATION. SUSTAINED AIRBAG BURNS - LOWER FACE/CHIN, ALL ACROSS CHE
AIR BAGS:FRONTAL:SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE 31 May 2005 1FACP52U0PG RICHMOND CA No No HIT DIP (ROAD DEFECT) 04/26/05; DRIVER'S-SIDE AIRBAG (FROM STEERING WHEEL) DEPLOYED. THOUGHT CAR ABOUT TO CATCH ON FIRE (THAT AIRBAG POWDER WAS SMOKE); QUICKLY EXITED CAR, THEN REALIZED SITUATION. SUSTAINED AIRBAG BURNS - LOWER FACE/CHIN, ALL ACROSS CHE
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 23 Mar 2005 COUSHATTA LA No yes WHILE BEING PARKED FOR APPROXIMATELY 6-8 HOURS VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE. THE CAUSE OF THE FIRE WAS UNDETERMINED.*AK
POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION 30 Jan 2005 1FACP524XPA EATON OH No No THE CAR STARTED STALLING. THE CAR JUST STOPPED WORKING. IT HAS ALSO ALMOST CAUSED US TO GET HIT WHEN IT STALLS OUT AND WHEN IT WAS ABOUT TO GO OUT WE ALOMOST CAUSED SOME ACCIDENTS. WE HAFT TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION BECAUSE IT IS CRACKED. EVERYONE HAS
ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE 01 Jan 2005 1FALP5744PG WILLOWBROOK IL No No FORD TAURUS HEATER STARTED BLOWING COLD AIR AND A CLOUD OF WHITE SMOKE WAS COMING OUT OF THE REAR EXHAUST PIPE WHICH MADE IT DIFFICULT TO SEE. LIMP INTO DEALER WHO SAID THE HEAD GASKET IS SHOT WHICH IS COMMON ON THE 3.8L V6 ENGINES IN FORDS. MENTIONED TO
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 28 Dec 2004 1FALP5243PG PECATONICA IL No No NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS CONCERNING LEAKING HEAD GASKETS. *BF THE VEHICLE HAS HAD NUMEROUS PROBLEM WITH THE VEHICLE WHICH INCLUDE THE INTAKE MANIFOLD, COOLING FAN, IGNITION WIRING, COIL SPRING FAILURE, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED, ALTERNATOR, HEAD GASKET
ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING 28 Dec 2004 1FALP5243PG PECATONICA IL No No NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS CONCERNING LEAKING HEAD GASKETS. *BF THE VEHICLE HAS HAD NUMEROUS PROBLEM WITH THE VEHICLE WHICH INCLUDE THE INTAKE MANIFOLD, COOLING FAN, IGNITION WIRING, COIL SPRING FAILURE, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED, ALTERNATOR, HEAD GASKET
SUSPENSION:FRONT:SPRINGS:COIL SPRINGS 28 Dec 2004 1FALP5243PG PECATONICA IL No No NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS CONCERNING LEAKING HEAD GASKETS. *BF THE VEHICLE HAS HAD NUMEROUS PROBLEM WITH THE VEHICLE WHICH INCLUDE THE INTAKE MANIFOLD, COOLING FAN, IGNITION WIRING, COIL SPRING FAILURE, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED, ALTERNATOR, HEAD GASKET
POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION 13 Dec 2004 1FALP5843PG PINOLE CA No No NAR 03/03/2003. THE CONSUMER HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION WHICH EVENTUALLY HAD TO BE REPLACED, ALSO THE BRAKES WORE OUT PREMATURELY DUE TO LACK OF A SECOND GEAR. THE ENGINE WENT OUT IN NOV 1997 WHICH WAS LIKELY HEAD GASKET FAILURE. JAN
ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE 13 Dec 2004 1FALP5843PG PINOLE CA No No NAR 03/03/2003. THE CONSUMER HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION WHICH EVENTUALLY HAD TO BE REPLACED, ALSO THE BRAKES WORE OUT PREMATURELY DUE TO LACK OF A SECOND GEAR. THE ENGINE WENT OUT IN NOV 1997 WHICH WAS LIKELY HEAD GASKET FAILURE. JAN
SUSPENSION:FRONT:SPRINGS:COIL SPRINGS 15 Nov 2004 1FACP52UXPG BUXTON ME No No DRIVERS SIDE FRONT COIL SPRING FRACTURE 1993 FORD TAURUS. *AK
CHILD SEAT:TETHER (STRAP) 01 Nov 2004 SEEKONK MA No No EVENFLO CAR SEAT HARNESS ADJUSTER STRAP DIFFICULT TO ADJUST WEATHER THE CSS IS OCCUIED OR OCCUPEID. CSS INSTALLED FORWARD FACING, BACK SEAT, CENTER WITH LAP BELT. *BF *NM
POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION 07 Oct 2004 LOS ANGELES CA No No WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH VEHICLE STALLED. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION, AND MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. *AK
ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE 13 Aug 2004 AFACP5249PG FRESNO CA No No WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH CONSUMER SAW SMOKE COMING THROUGH THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. CONSUMER WAS ABLE TO MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE, AND DROVE IT TO A BODY SHOP FOR INSPECTION. MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT HEAD GASKET NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND REPLACED
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 13 Aug 2004 1FACP52UXPA WEST CHESTER PA No No THE VEHICLE'S HEADLIGHT SWITCH AND WIRE HARNESS, STEERING COLUMN COVERS, TURN SIGNAL/WIPER SWITCH WERE REPLACED. *PH *NM
STEERING:COLUMN 13 Aug 2004 1FACP52UXPA WEST CHESTER PA No No THE VEHICLE'S HEADLIGHT SWITCH AND WIRE HARNESS, STEERING COLUMN COVERS, TURN SIGNAL/WIPER SWITCH WERE REPLACED. *PH *NM
 
  • Copyright © 2013-2016 PriceHub, Inc. All rights reserved.